City: Shawneetown

County: Gallatin

State: Illinois

The Illinois General Assembly placed the Gallatin County Circuit Court in the Fourth Judicial Circuit in 1819. In 1827, they moved it to the Third Judicial Circuit; in 1851, they placed it in the newly-established Twelfth Circuit; and in 1857, they placed it in the newly-created Nineteenth Judicial Circuit.

"An Act Regulating and Defining the Duties of the Justices of the Supreme Court," 31 March 1819, Laws of Illinois (1819), 373-84; "An Act to Amend an 'Act Constituting and Regulating the Supreme and Circuit Courts of this State, Approved December 29, 1824,'" 12 January 1827, Revised Laws of Illinois (1827), 118-19; "An Act to Establish the Twelfth Judicial Circuit," 1 February 1851, General Laws of Illinois (1851), 13-14; "An Act to Establish the Nineteenth Judicial Circuit, and Declare what Counties Shall Compose the Third Judicial Circuit, and to Fix the Times of Holding Courts in Said Circuits," 29 January 1857, Laws of Illinois (1857), 3-5.