State: Ohio

Lat/Long: 40.0000, -80.8333

Ohio became a state in 1803, but it was not until 1953 that Congress formally admitted it into the Union, retroactive to March 1, 1803. After the state capital shifted from Chillicothe to Zanesville and back again, the Ohio General Assembly eventually designated the new city of Columbus as the seat of government in 1816. A free state, Ohio remained loyal to the Union during the Civil War.

"An Act to Enable the People of the Eastern Division of the Territory Northwest of the River Ohio to Form a Constitution and State Government, and for the Admission of Such State into the Union, on an Equal Footing with the Original States, and for Other Purposes," 30 April 1802, Statutes at Large of the United States 2 (1845):173-75; "An Act to Provide for the Due Execution of the Laws of the United States, within the State of Ohio," 19 February 1803, Statutes at Large of the United States 2 (1845):201-02; "Joint Resolution for Admitting the State of Ohio into the Union," 7 August 1953, Statutes at Large of the United States 67 (1953):407; History of Clinton County, Ohio (Chicago: W. H. Beers, 1882), 142.