State: Connecticut

Lat/Long: 41.8333, -72.8333

One of the original thirteen colonies, Connecticut ratified the U.S. Constitution on January 9, 1788, becoming the fifth state in the Union. Hartford had been capital of the Connecticut Colony, and continued to act as the seat of government for the state. A free state, Connecticut remained loyal to the Union during the Civil War.

Elias B. Sanford, History of Connecticut (Hartford, CT: S. S. Scranton, 1887), 236, 254-81; Thomas H. Johnson, Oxford Companion to American History (New York: Oxford University Press, 1966), 206.