Fayette County, Kentucky

County: Fayette

State: Kentucky

Lat/Long: 38.0500, -84.4500

Fayette County was officially organized in 1781. Originally composing nearly one third of Kentucky, new counties were carved out of it until Fayette reached its present boundaries in 1798. At the county's organization, officials designated Lexington as the county seat.

William Henry Perrin, ed., History of Fayette County, Kentucky (Chicago: O. L. Baskin, 1882), 61, 64.