State: Maryland

Lat/Long: 39.0000, -76.8333

One of the original thirteen colonies, Maryland ratified the U.S. Constitution on April 28, 1788, becoming the seventh state in the Union. Maryland remained a slave state through the Civil War but stayed loyal to the Union. Its capital is Annapolis.

Webster's New Geographical Dictionary (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1988), 735; Paul T. Hellmann, Historical Gazetteer of the United States (New York: Routledge, 2005), 291.