Champaign County, Illinois

County: Champaign

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 40.1333, -88.2000

The Illinois General Assembly created Champaign County in 1833 out of Vermilion County and ordered that the county seat would be called Urbana. Later that year, commissioners appointed for the purpose chose the site for the town.

"An Act Creating the County of Champaign," 20 February 1833, Laws of a Private Nature (1833), 28-30; History of Champaign County, Illinois (Philadelphia: Brink, McDonough, 1878), 24-25.