Fayette County, Illinois

County: Fayette

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 39.0167, -89.0333

The Illinois legislature created Fayette County on February 14, 1821, out of Bond, Jefferson, Wayne, Crawford, and Clark counties. In 1823, Marion County was partially created out of Fayette as were Clay and Clinton counties the following year. In 1827, the legislature created Shelby County partially out of Fayette and the same occurred in 1831 with Effingham County. Its county seat is Vandalia.

Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties (Springfield: Illinois Secretary of State, 2010), 7-9; History of Fayette County, Illinois (Philadelphia: Brink, McDonough, 1878), 11-16.