Aurora, Illinois (Kane Co.)

City: Aurora

County: Kane

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 41.7500, -88.3167

Located thirty-seven miles West of Chicago, Aurora received a U.S. Post Office in March 1837. Aurora was incorporated as a city in February 1857.

Webster's New Geographical Dictionary (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1988), 93; James N. Adams, comp., Illinois Place Names (Springfield: Illinois State Historical Society, 1989), 283; “An Act to Incorporate the City of Aurora, and Establish an Inferior Court Therein,” 11 February 1857, Private Laws of Illinois (1857), 375-95.