Jefferson County, Illinois

County: Jefferson County

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 38.3000, -88.9333

The Illinois General Assembly created Jefferson County in 1819, out of parts of Edwards and White counties. Later that year, commissioners appointed for the purpose located the site of the new county's seat and the county commissioners' court named the new town Mt. Vernon.

"An Act Forming a Separate County out of Edwards and White Counties," 26 March 1819, Laws of Illinois (1819), 267-68; William H. Perrin, ed., History of Jefferson County, Illinois (Chicago: Globe, 1883), 136, 281-83.