Franklin County, Illinois

County: Franklin

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 38.0000, -88.9333

From its creation in 1818 until 1839, the seat of Franklin County was Frankfort. In 1841, the legislature designated Benton as the county seat.

Franklin County, Illinois, 1818-1997 (Paducah, KY: Turner, 1996), 8-9; An Act Declaring the Town of Benton the Permanent Seat of Justice for the County of Franklin; "An Act Forming a Separate County out of Gallatin, White and the Detached Part of Jackson County," 2 January 1818, Laws of Illinois Territory (1818), 11-14.