Marion County, Illinois

County: Marion

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 38.6500, -88.9333

The Illinois General Assembly created Marion County in January 1823. Named for Francis Marion, a hero of the American Revolution, the county lies west of St. Louis in the interior of the state, and Salem is the seat of government.

Illinois Counties and Incorporated Municipalities (Springfield: Illinois Secretary of State, 2012), 1; John M. Peck, A Gazetteer of Illinois in Three Parts (Jacksonville, IL: R. Goudy, 1834), 143; James N. Adams, comp., Illinois Place Names (Springfield, IL: Illinois State Historical Library, 1989), 594.