Wabash County, Illinois

County: Wabash

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 38.4500, -87.8500

The Illinois General Assembly created Wabash County in 1825 from Edwards County. Later that year, commissioners appointed for the purpose chose a site for the new county's seat that they named Centerville. In 1829, Mt. Carmel was designated as the county seat.

"An Act Forming a Separate County out of the County of Edwards," 27 December 1824, Laws of Illinois (1825), 25-27; Combined History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois (Philadelphia: J. L. McDonough, 1883), 116, 236.