Monterrey, Mexico

City: Monterrey

County: Mexico

State: Nuevo Leon

Lat/Long: 25.6667, -100.3167

Founded in 1579, Monterrey is the capital city of Nuevo León. Located 150 miles south of Laredo, Texas, Monterrey was captured by U.S. forces under Zachary Taylor during the Mexican War.

Webster's New Geographical Dictionary (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1988), 786; Courtlandt Canby, The Encyclopedia of Historic Places (New York: Facts on File, 1984), 2:617.