Lincoln County, Kentucky

County: Lincoln

State: Kentucky

Lat/Long: 37.4500, -84.6667

Lincoln County was formed in 1780, one of the three original counties organized in the district of Kentucky. Stanford is the county seat of Lincoln County, which was named in honor of General Benjamin Lincoln, a distinguished army officer during the American Revolution.

Richard H. Collins, rev., History of Kentucky: By the Late Lewis Collins (Louisville, KY: Richard H. Collins, 1877), 468.