Washington County, Kentucky

County: Washington

State: Kentucky

Lat/Long: 37.7667, -85.1833

The Kentucky General Assembly organized Washington County on June 22, 1792, carving it out of Nelson County. Located in west central Kentucky, southwest of Lexington, Washington County was the first county established after Kentucky became a state. Springfield is the county seat.

Frank R. Abate, ed., American Places Dictionary (Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1994), 2:326.