U.S. Department of the Treasury

City: Washington

State: DC

One of the original federal departments, Congress established the Department of the Treasury on September 2, 1789, to manage government finances. The Secretary of the Treasury heads the department.

"An Act to Establish the Treasury Department," 2 September 1789, Statutes at Large of the United States 1 (1845):65-67.