Logan County, Kentucky

County: Logan

State: Kentucky

Lat/Long: 36.8667, -86.8667

Created out of Lincoln County in 1792, Logan County was the thirteenth county in order of creation in Kentucky. As originally laid out, the county included all of the commonwealth south of the Green River. Organizers named it in honor of General Benjamin Logan, a commander of the Kentucky Militia during the American Revolution and a member of the convention that authored the first state constitution. Russellville became and remains the county seat.

Lewis Collins, Collins' Historical Sketches of Kentucky: History of Kentucky (Covington, KY: Collins, 1882), 2:479-80, 482-86.