Gallatin County, Illinois

County: Gallatin

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 37.7667, -88.2333

In 1812, Governor Ninian Edwards, of Illinois Territory, created Gallatin County. In the proclamation, he appointed Shawneetown as the seat of the new county. In 1827, the General Assembly authorized the seat to be moved to Equality. When Saline County was split off from Gallatin in 1847, the seat was moved back to Shawneetown.

History of Gallatin, Saline, Hamilton, Franklin and Williamson Counties, Illinois (Chicago: Goodspeed, 1887), 40-41, 62-66.