State: Maine

Lat/Long: 45.0000, -69.0000

Originally disputed land between the United States and British North America, Maine was officially made a district of the state of Massachusetts in 1820. Maine ratified the U.S. Constitution on March 15, 1820, as part of the Missouri Compromise, being the twenty-third state in the Union. A free state, The Webster-Ashburton Treaty of 1842 settled the boundary between Maine and British North America. Maine remained loyal to the Union during the Civil War. Portland was its original capital until being moved to Augusta.

Courtlandt Canby, The Encyclopedia of Historic Places (New York: Facts on File, 1984), 2:552-53; Webster's New Geographical Dictionary (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1988), 710.