DeWitt County, Illinois

County: DeWitt

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 40.1667, -88.9167

The Illinois legislature created DeWitt County in 1839 from parts of Macon and McLean counties. Soon after the county's formation, voters chose Clinton as the county seat.

An Act for the Formation of De Witt County; History of DeWitt County, Illinois (Philadelphia: W. R. Brink, 1882), 65.