Carroll County, Illinois

County: Carroll

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 42.0667, -89.9167

The Illinois General Assembly created Carroll County out of Jo Daviess County in 1839. Later that year, voters selected Savanna as the county seat. In 1843, the legislature authorized the county to hold another election, at which voters chose to move the county seat to a new site named Mount Carroll. The county was named for signer of the Declaration of Independence, Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Maryland.

An Act to Organize the County of Carroll; History of Carroll County Illinois (Chicago: H. F. Kett, 1878), 228, 242-43; “An Act to Re-locate the County Seat of Carroll County,” 2 March 1843, Laws of Illinois (1843), 126-27; Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties (Springfield: Illinois Secretary of State, 2010), 62.