Savanna, Illinois

City: Savanna

County: Carroll

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 42.0833, -90.1500

The town of Savanna is located in northwestern Illinois on the Mississippi River. White settlers arrived at the place that would become Savanna in 1828. In 1835, a U.S. Post Office was established and the town was laid out the following year. Savanna was in Jo Daviess County until the 1839 creation of Carroll County. That same year, Carroll County voters chose Savanna as their county seat. In 1843, voters chose to move the seat to a new site, which became the town of Mount Carroll.

James N. Adams, comp., Illinois Place Names (Springfield: Illinois State Historical Society, 1989), 500; Edward Callary, Place Names of Illinois (Urbana and Chicago: University of Illinois Press, 2009), 312; The History of Carroll County Illinois (Chicago: H. F. Kett, 1878), 228, 242-43, 359; “An Act to Re-Locate the County Seat of Carroll County,” 2 March 1843, Laws of Illinois (1843), 126-27.