Schuyler County, Illinois

County: Schuyler

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 40.1500, -90.6000

The Illinois legislature created Schuyler County, Illinois, on January 13, 1825. It was formed out of portions of Pike and Fulton counties. The name derived from Philip Schuyler, a Revolutionary War general and U.S. senator. It was initially made part of Hancock County until it could be fully organized. In 1826, the legislature broke off part of it to become McDonough County. The legislature again split Schuyler County in 1839 to create Brown County. The county seat was originally Beardstown but after a year, the legislature relocated it to Rushville.

Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties (Springfield: Illinois Secretary of State, 2010), 8, 10, 61; Combined History of Schuyler and Brown Counties, Illinois (Philadelphia: W. R. Brink, 1882), 78-80; An Act to Create the County of Brown out of the County of Schuyler.