Effingham County, Illinois

County: Effingham

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 39.0500, -88.5833

The Illinois legislature created Effingham County in 1831 from parts of Fayette, Crawford, and Clay counties. Later that year, commissioners appointed for the purpose located the county seat at Ewington. In 1859, the legislature authorized the county to vote on removal of the seat, and voters chose to move the seat to Effingham.

"An Act Establishing the Counties of Jasper and Effingham," 15 February 1831, Laws of Illinois (1831), 50-52; William Henry Perrin, ed., History of Effingham County, Illinois (Chicago: O. L. Baskin, 1883), 37, 80.