View up to date information on how Illinois is handling the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) from the Illinois Department of Public Health

Batesville, Arkansas

City: Batesville

County: Independence

State: Arkansas

Lat/Long: 35.7667, -91.6333

Batesville is the county seat and largest city in Independence County, Arkansas. The oldest city in Arkansas, Batesville was named after James Woodson Bates, the first Arkansas territorial delegate to the U.S. Congress. Batesville became the county seat of Independence County in 1821, and was platted and laid out in 1822. During the antebellum period, Batesville was an important commercial and cultural center for northeastern Arkansas, but by the end of the Civil War, the town was destitute, and it took several decades for it to recover.

George E. Lankford, s.v. "Batesville (Independence County)," The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture. (accessed September 5, 2018).