View up to date information on how Illinois is handling the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) from the Illinois Department of Public Health

New Brunswick

State: New Brunswick

Lat/Long: 46.5000, -66.7500

Located in eastern Canada, New Brunswick is one of the country's maritime provinces. It is bounded on the north by Quebec; on the east by the Gulf of Saint Lawrence and Northumerland Strait; on the south by the Bay of Fundy, and on the west by Maine. The first French settlement in the area was in 1604, and English immigrants established a settlement in 1762. Up to 1784, New Brunswick was part of French Acadia and later British Nova Scotia. After the American Revolution, Loyalists fleeing the United States moved to the region, and the British government established New Brunswick as a separate province in 1784. Disputes between the United States and Canada over its western boundary continued until the Webster-Ashburton Treaty of 1842 settled the matter. In 1867, New Brunswick joined Nova Scotia, Ontario, and Quebec to form the Dominion of Canada.

Webster's New Geographical Dictionary (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1988), 828.