Jefferson County, Kentucky

County: Jefferson

State: Kentucky

Lat/Long: 38.1833, -85.6500

Jefferson County was one of the first three counties created in the area now known as Kentucky. The county was subdivided many times, and now encompasses the area surrounding Louisville on the Ohio River. Louisville has been the county seat since before statehood.

History of the Ohio Falls Cities and Their Counties (Cleveland: L. A. Williams, 1882), 1:79, 182.