In force Dec.[December] 19, 1834.
AN ACT to Organize the County of Jasper.
Election of officers.
Sec.[Section] 1. Be it enacted by the people of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly, That on the fourth Monday in January next, between the hours of eight o’clock in the morning, and seven o’clock in the evening, an election shall be held in the town of Newton in the county of Jasper, for three county commissioners, one sheriff, and one coroner for said county, who shall continue in office until their successors shall be duly elected and qualified.2
Judges of election.
How conducted.
Sec. 2. David Philips, William M. Richards, and Wm. Price, or any two of them, shall be judges of said election, and shall be authorized to appoint two clerks, and shall be qualified in the same manner as judges and clerks of elections are now required by law, and said election shall, in
<Page 2>
every respect, be conducted in conformity with the election laws of this State.
Seat of justice.
Sec. 3. The location of the seat of justice made by commissioners appointed by the act creating said county of Jasper, and all their acts properly appertaining to their duties as such, are hereby ratified and confirmed.3
Attached to 4th judicial circuit.
Sec. 4. Said county of Jasper shall be attached to the fourth judicial circuit, and shall vote with the county of Crawford in the election of Representative to the State legislature, and with the counties of Crawford and Lawrence in the Senatorial election.
Approved, Dec. 19, 1834.
1Henry I. Mills introduced SB 3 in the Senate on December 6, 1834. The Senate passed the bill on December 9. The House of Representatives concurred on December 15. On December 19, the Council of Revision approved the bill, and the act became law.
Illinois House Journal. 1835. 9th G. A., 1st sess., 92, 102, 121, 132, 138; Illinois Senate Journal. 1835. 9th G. A., 1st sess., 65, 75, 111, 114, 116.
2When the General Assembly created Jasper County in February 1831, it required that a majority of the legal voters in it petition a future general assembly for organization. This act completed that organization process.
"An Act Establishing the Counties of Jasper and Effingham," 15 February 1831, Laws of Illinois, Passed at the Seventh General Assembly (1831), 50-52.
3The commissioners appointed by the General Assembly in 1831 designated the location of the county seat to be called Newton.

Printed Document, 2 page(s), Laws of the State of Illinois, Passed by the Ninth General Assembly, at their First Session (Vandalia, IL: J. Y. Sawyer, 1835), 154-55, GA Session: 9-1,