South America

Lat/Long: -3.5500, -56.6830

The fourth largest of the seven continents, South America covers 6,880,706 square miles. It is bounded on the west by the Pacific Ocean; on the south by the Pacific Ocean and Drake's Passage; on the north by the Caribbean Sea and North America; on the northwest by Panama, and on the northeast and east by the Atlantic Ocean. It is located in the Western Hemisphere and comprises most of Latin America. Argentina, Brazil, Venezuela, Chilé, Ecuador, Uruguay, Colombia, and Bolivia are among the sovereign nations on the South American mainland. Falkland, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Netherlands Antilles are among the islands surrounding the mainland.

Webster's New Geographical Dictionary (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1988), 1133-35.