Clinton County, Illinois

County: Clinton

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 38.6000, -89.4000

The Illinois General Assembly formed Clinton County from Washington and Bond counties in December 1824 and named it in honor of DeWitt Clinton, a U.S. Senator and famous naturalist. The Kaskaskia River passes through the county, which is due east of St. Louis. The seat of government is Carlyle.

Illinois Counties and Incorporated Municipalities (Springfield: Illinois Secretary of State, 2012), 1; John M. Peck, A Gazetteer of Illinois in Three Parts (Jacksonville, IL: R. Goudy, 1834), 119-20; James N. Adams, comp., Illinois Place Names (Springfield, IL: Illinois State Historical Library, 1989), 576.