View up to date information on how Illinois is handling the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) from the Illinois Department of Public Health

Raleigh, Illinois

City: Raleigh

County: Saline

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 37.827523, -88.532030

When Saline County was created out of Gallatin County in 1847, Raleigh was its initial county seat. The town was surveyed the same year. In 1857, county residents chose Harrisburg as the new seat, and county government moved there in 1859.

History of Gallatin, Saline, Hamilton, Franklin and Williamson Counties, Illinois (Chicago: Goodspeed, 1887), 183, 205; James N. Adams, comp., Illinois Place Names (Springfield: Illinois State Historical Society, 1989), 483.