Indiana General Assembly

City: Indianapolis

County: Marion

State: Indiana

Largely based on the federal Congress, with a House of Representatives and a Senate, the Indiana General Assembly was created by the first state constitution in 1816. It was located in Corydon until 1825, when it moved to Indianapolis.

Ind. Const. of 1816, art. III, ยง 1; Donald F. Carmony, History of Indiana 1816-1850: The Pioneer Era (Indianapolis: Indiana Historical Society, 1998), 112-13.