Logan County, Illinois

County: Logan

State: Illinois

Lat/Long: 40.1333, -89.3667

Abraham Lincoln introduced the legislation that created Logan County in 1839 out of Sangamon County. Commissioners appointed for the purpose selected Postville as the temporary county seat. In 1841, the General Assembly declared Postville (which later became the town of Lincoln) to be the seat of Logan County. In 1847, voters chose to move the county seat to Mt. Pulaski. In 1853, voters chose to move the seat to Lincoln.

An Act to Establish the Counties of Menard, Logan, and Dane; An Act to Locate Permanently the Seat of Justice of Logan County; History of Logan County, Illinois (Chicago: Inter-State, 1886), 221-28; Lawrence B. Stringer, History of Logan County Illinois (Chicago: Pioneer, 1911), 1:563-66.