An act, to establish the County of Marshall.
Sec[Section]. 1. Be it enacted, by the People of the State of Illinois represented in the General Assembly. That all that tract of Country, lying within the following boundaries, to wit; Begining at the north east corner of township No thirty north of range one west of the third principal Meridian, runing thence south on the third meridian line to the southeast corner of Township twenty nine, north of range one west; thence west on the line dividing, Townships twenty eight and twenty nine north the southern boundary line of Putnam County to the Illinois River; then continuing with the southern boundary of Putnam County across the Illinois River westward on the line dividing Townships eleven and twelve North, to the south west corner of Township twelve north of range eight east of the fourth principal meridian, thence north on the range line between ranges seven and eight to the north west corner of township thirteen north of range eight east of the fourth meridian; thence east with the line dividing Townships thirteen and fourteen north to the Illinois River; thence down the River to the north west corner of Township No thirty north of range two west of the third principal meridian; and thence on the line dividing Townships thirty and thirty one north to the place of begining; shall be erected into a new County to the called the County of Marshall.
Sec. 2. That William Ogle, of Putnam County; D. G. Sailsbury of Burea County; and Campbell Wakefield of McLean County, are hereby appointed commissioners to locate the seat of Justice for the said new County. The said commissioners or a majority of them shall meet at the town of Lacon on the first Monday of or as soon thereafter as may be, and being first duly sworn before some Justice of the peace faithfully to take into consideration the convenience of the people, the situation of the settlements, with an eye to future population and eligibility of the place,
<Page 2>
shall proceed to locate the County seat of said County. If said commissioners shall elect any Town already laid off they shall require the proprietors or owners of said town to donate to the said new County of Marshall ^for the purpose of erecting public buildings,^ a quantity of lots of an average Value with the remaining, ones; which together shall amount to twenty acres of land, or shall donate and give in lieu thereof the sum of five thousand dollars to be paid by three eaqual[equal] instalments to the county commissioners within eighteen months from the time the County seat shall be located, and if said commissioners should locate said County Seat on land not having been laid off into town lots, They shall secure the title to a quantity of land not less than twenty acres to and for the use of said new County and on which the public buildings shall be erected.
Sec. 3. That the legal voters of the said County of Marshall shall meet at the respective places of holding elections on the first Monday in next and proceed to elect County officers, and returns of said election shall be made by the Judges and Clerks to the Justices of the peace within the said County, said Justices shall meet at the town of Lacon, within seven days after the said election, and proceed to open the returns, and in all things perform the duties required by law of the clerks of commissioners courts, and Justices of the peace in like cases.
Sec. 4. That the County Commissioners elected under this act shall meet at the town of Lacon within ten days after their election, And being first duly qualified shall proceed to appoint a clerk, and lay off the County into Justices districts, and all officers elected under the provisions of this act, shall be commissioned and qualified as required by law, shall hold their offices until the next general election, and until their successors are qualified.
Sec. 5. The courts of said County shall be held at such place as the County commissioners shall designate, until a suitable
<Page 3>
preperation can be made at the County seat; said County shall constitute a part of the sixth judicial circuit, and the circuit ^court^ shall be held for said county twice in each year at such time as the Judge of the said circuit may designate,
Sec. 6. The qualified voters of the County of Marshall in all elections except County elections, shall vote with the district to which they belong, until otherwise provided by law, but shall make election returns to the secretary of State in the same manner that is required by law from other Counties in this state.
Sec. 7. The commissioners appointed by this act to locate the County seat shall each be paid the sum of three dollars pr day, out of the County treasury of said County, for each day they may be employed in making the said location.
Sec. 8. It shall be the duty of the Clerks of the commissioners courts of the said County of Marshall and the county of Burea to make the returns of elections for representatives to the General Assembly to the Clerk of the County of Putnam, and the returns for senator to the Clerk of the County of Peoria, and shall proceed to compare said election returns as is now required by law in other senetorial and representative districts.
Sec. 9. That the Counties of Burea^u^ and Henry shall extend north to the line dividing Townships eighteen and nineteen north, this act to be in force from and after its passage.
Passed H R. Jan 1st 1839.
D. Prickett clk[clerk]. H. R.

<Page 4>
H. R.
A Bill for an act to establish the county of Marshall.
Se[Select] Com[Committee]
To be Enrolled
Clk H R.

Handwritten Document, 4 page(s), Folder 9, HB 13, GA Session 11-1, Illinois State Archives (Springfield, IL) ,