Petition of D. P. Burns and Others to Orlando B. Ficklin and Abraham Lincoln, [6 December 1847 - 3 March 1849]1
[ docketing ]
To the Honorable O. B. Ficklin and A. Lincoln menbers House of RepresentativesSirs/
We the undersigned Inhabitants of Sangamon, Logan, and Dewitt Counties Illinois, would humbly request, That you take the legal and necessary steps, to cause a new post route, to be made through said Counties, from Springfield Sangamon County to Mt Pleasant Dewitt County; passing through Mt Pulaski (County Seat of Logan,) through Clinton (County Seat of Dewitt) through Marion to Mt Pleasant. There is now a state road from these two points, opened and well worked, and we the undersigned think a Mail route on this road of the utmost importance,, no new post offices need be established, offices are now at all these points, and supplied by short cross routes, which can be dispensed with, A private route now exists from Camden to Mt Pulaski, Another from Delivan to Mt Pleasant, passing through Clinton, The papers & letters from Springfield to Clinton & Marion go first to Delivan a distance of 45 miles, then to Clinton distance 37. miles. making 82 miles, when the distance by Mt Pulaski is only 46 miles, besides this, the papers unifor^m^ly lay at the Delivan office one week, & it is not uncommon for the Springfield papers to be two weeks going to Clinton & Marion, as this will not infringe on any other[.] And the people so far as we are informed being in favor of its establishment; we petition your Honors to have the same established–
Respectfully your constituents &c[etc],
Petitioners Names Petitioners names
D. P. Burns J. M. Macintosh
Barton Star[?] John Turley
John Coppenbarger G. Friedrich
William Patterson John. M. Handshy
C. H. Benson. Granville Fain
Franz [Sekich?]
John W Clark H C StClair
B F. Dickinson Thomas Staught
Robert O. Paranteau Jabez Capps
Cartmell Crockett
Washington Patterson Barton Robinson
William Dement James J Snyder
Abraham Turner John N Harry
Wm Powers N. M. Whitaker
N R Cass Isaac Tomlinson
John S Paulk C. W. Snyder
George Snyder W B H[Harey?]
N. H Foster Clarkson F Brooks
Luther Hill
A. W. Morgan Moses Rawlings
Porter Knapp. Jarl Waghlin
Christopher. C. Mason James Cast
R. H. Dement John Barney
Moses Moore Renhard Sang
Baldwin C Harper Freidrick Weisz
John Husten
John H Girtman Henry Barney
George J. Girtman L. B. Lefft
T. Leeds. John P Wiley
Peter c christian Solomon Millar
George Girtman Senr John. J. Candy
Samuel W Wiley Joshua Day
Jeremiah Buckley Robert Downing
David Binks Henry Beson
Harrison Alleson Andrew Huston
Conrad J. Starr
Humphrey Seraggen
Thomas Tear William Mathers
John J [Bradshaw?] Jacob L Mann
Noah Chenoweth J. R. Branches
Charles Wood John D Copeland
Hiram [Star?] S M Copeland
William [?] Benjamin Leland
A D Powars Patrick Frakes
Jabez Lucas John Lucas
George Turley Alexander Rigdon
William [?] Samuel [?]
Drewey Martin
Roland Birks Joseph Collins
Rial Birkes James Johnson
Daniel Wiley John M Gibson
A. W. Vansil
John R Lucas James Shores
Robert Buckles Joseph. [?] Dement
Joseph Shores
A. P. Miller G H Fain
Reuben Daniels James A [Goyen?]
A [T?] Coplan T. H Regan
Alfred Scroggin William [?]
William Stallings
Isaac Morgan Andrew H Wilkinson
Robert Fraiks John Hoblett
Benjamin [?] J. T. Clark
Thomas S [Dewit?] D. B. Wright
John Schall
S C Beam H. B. Rowe
William Donnon G. W. Wade
James J Tompkins John Shoup
Robert P [?]
G. C. Wright McCarty Hildreth
William W Watson
J. W Wright Samuel Huffman
Danl [?] G. W. Turley Sr.
Norris Williams John C Laughlin
[Ruehard?] E. Turley
David W Clark Thomas Shoup
[?] [?]
Thomas J Scroggin george Mier
Robt Williams [E?]
James Gobbett Ferdinand Meeker
John u Capps
Charles Capps. Lewis Morgan
Wm Loury Andrew. J. Turley
Thomas Mason Pfitgenmeyer
Henry Beason James Jackson
Norman Norton [?] M Douglass
J. N Douglass

<Page 2>
[ docketing ]
[H?] Mount

<Page 3>
[ docketing ]
Citizens Cum. Cos Pena for Post Route from Allen to Barbury Spring2
[ docketing ]
1D. P. Burns wrote this petition and signed his name. The other signatories signed their own names. The petitioners sent this petition to either Orlando B. Ficklin or Abraham Lincoln sometime during the 30th Congress. Although the petition is located in a collection of petitions presented to the U.S. House of Representatives that were committed to committees, editors could find no evidence of it having been introduced or referred to the Committee on the Post Office and Post Roads, of which Lincoln was a member.
2As the docketing on this page clearly does not match the content of this petition, it is possible that a clerk in the House of Representatives simply wrote the docketing intended for a different document on this petition.

Handwritten Document Signed, 3 page(s), RG 233, Entry 367: Records of the U.S. House of Representatives, Thirtieth Congress, 1847-1849, Records of Legislative Proceedings, Petitions and Memorials, Resolutions of State Legislatures, and Related Documents Which Were Referred to Committees, 1847-1849, NAB.